top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKylie Simmons

Blog #8-Blog About It

For this blog, I want to talk about Project 2-my concerns and successes I have encountered so far and my plans as far as actually writing the paper. I understand that the purpose of the paper is to dissect a community we are not yet a part of, but wish to be involved in. We are supposed to conduct “on the ground research” to explain the community and the texts within it. I plan on writing about the combined bachelor’s master’s program FSU provides for its elementary education majors. It is an exclusive track, only inviting 30 students in its first year-this one. There is a lot of things one must complete before applying to this major, and then once involved, the community is incredibly tight-knit. Because there are only 30 students in the track, you have all of your classes with the same people, so getting to know them and working together is vital to the successes one has in this major. I want to talk about this process and how a master’s degree is becoming the new standard for teachers. A master’s degree is beginning to be required for teachers, and going back to school is incredibly difficult once you have begun your life after school when you have a job, and a family to care for. So this combined major FSU offers is ideal for its students and has so many benefits other than a higher degree. For my paper I have conducted an interview with an advisor in the college of education and have researched the benefits of having a master’s degree for today’s teachers. Also, how a master’s degree affects one’s ability to teach effectively. I have concerns with actually writing the paper itself and if it is supposed to be academic or personal, and how to effectively deliver my knowledge about the major and the texts involved.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection

When this class first began, it sounded quite simple. Three projects and a few other assignments for the entire semester. Also, the fact that we could edit and resubmit our papers as many times as we

Blog #11

For this blog, I chose to read chapter 10 of the BBG. I chose this instead of the Wikipedia article because I was confused and hesitant about project 3 when it was first brought up in class. Chapter 1

Blog #10 Blog About It

For this blog, I’m going to talk about my progress for Project 2, my conference with Mat, and the direction I’m headed in for the rest of my paper. So far, Project 2 has been rather challenging, but v

bottom of page